writing backwards

neo leo by gene baretta

I did not know Leonardo da Vinci wrote backwards because he was left-handed and didn’t want to smudge the ink. I also didn’t know he was the first to dream up airplanes, helicopters, hang gliders and even tanks.

It affirms my belief that people like da Vinci, Einstein and Ben Franklin were just not of this earth. Either that or they simply used their brains to the best of their abilities.

Gene Barretta’s talents are that amazing also (he even writes backwards like da Vinci and challenges us to hold a mirror up to the words to figure them out).

Sure, I can check out any book from the library to learn more about da Vinci, but Baretta’s illustrations sets him apart from the rest. It’s like walking through an art gallery while attending science class.

I also own Baretta’s Now & Ben about the many inventions of Ben Franklin. Did you know in addition to discovering electricity, he started the first library, fire department and post office?

I’d love to share them with my kids’ school, but these books are too good to give up. And maybe they’ll inspire my kids to invent, design or write some things of their own.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

One comment

  1. Ronda · August 16, 2009

    Leonardo de Vinci. He’s like a god to me. Big fan, big fan.
    He was a genius and way ahead of his time. How he did it, I don’t know. But I have my theories.
    In arts high school, me and my friends wrote backwards in our notes to each other in art history class.
    In college I made a book in tribute to him using his fables. Most people don’t know that he also wrote fables. He just did everything, LOL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

