happy birthday ray bradbury

Thanks to Lynne Bolinger who writes a very sweet blog about her husband called Bolingers Cottage, I attained Ray Bradbury‘s address a few months ago. I sent him two poems and a SASE.

Not even a week later, I received the following:

*My SASE with an extra stamp bearing Edgar Allen Poe‘s mug and an arrow pointed to it saying “Ray’s Papa” written with a dying marker

*An invitation to his play “Falling Upward.”

*A brochure on Fahrenheit 451 from the National Endowment of the Arts in Spanish

*My poems where he wrote “Tom! Love! Ray.” I guess my name Terri looks a little like Tom to an almost 89-year-old, but I didn’t mind.

Below is one of the poems I sent him inspired by a quote I read in his book Zen in the Art of Writing:

when their souls grew warm

“I have heard mothers tell of the long night with their firstborn when they were afraid that they and the baby might die…And they were all, when their souls grew warm, poets.”

Two months ago young adults came here for a murder
A year and two months before that, a suicide.
No loss for black clothing.

Spray-painted on the back of a dirty pick up truck:
RIP Spencer Bolt
A Nine Inch Nails sticker on the window.

The name of a comic book hero,
grandson of a pastor.
It seems like the angel of Passover
is removing firstborn sons again.

I look out over two baseball diamonds,
too cliché to say life is painfully short
but something goes through me
before someone passes
whether I knew them or not.

Spring training begins
a good man’s ashes scattered over the field.
No need to play at night.
We can see the ball just fine.
A little dog runs in circles
around home plate.

Water overflows the embankment
but doesn’t break the bridge.

Please read Mr. Electrico about how the creative process began for Mr. Bradbury at a young age.

One comment

  1. Lynne Bolinger · August 24, 2009

    I received a hand scrawled note where he used a succession of dying markers. I could visualize him tossing and grabbing a new one, etc.

    There’s magic to connection here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

