step on a crack, break your spine

Break your mother’s back.  This is why you wear a back brace as a kid if a doctor says so. The X-ray on the left is from when my back curved 80 degrees from scoliosis over four years ago.

2 rods, 25 screws, 2 pelvic bolts and 16 total hours of back surgeries later and viola! An almost straight spine and 3 more inches of height.

I had surgery when I was 36. The poor girl in this story suffered from the same affliction at only 11 years old.

Kids teased her and called her “Hunchback of Notre Dame” from the way she walked. Kids are cruel, that’s true, but at least she can now stand up to them.

Related articles by Zemanta

3 comments

  1. ladyberrington · March 10, 2011

    hi,
    I am wondering if you would be interested in comparing stories….
    I am a female in my early 40’s who had surgery when I was 17. I had a Harrington rod inserted to stop/slow down my curves that were I think 47 and 27 degrees at that time
    I would love to share stories about some of the symptoms I have experienced over the years.

    let me know
    Kerry

    Like

    • typhoidterri · March 11, 2011

      Of course! Great poem on your blog also. It has been over 6 years since my surgery. I still can’t tie my shoes or sit cross-legged, but that’s much better than a crooked spine that would have gotten worse. Nice to meet you. Are you from across the pond?

      Like

  2. ladyberrington · March 11, 2011

    hi Terri,
    great to hear back from you so quickly
    I live in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada is that across the pond?
    My partner, boyfriend is from Scotland. Where are you living? Is that home for you?
    Which poem were you referring to on my blog?
    Kerry

    Like

Leave a Reply

