libraries: rockin’ it old school

Bust of Orson Welles

Image via Wikipedia

Sometimes old school is the better way. Sure I love the Internet and how quickly I can find something, like who played Mr. Whipple in those Charmin commercials. But it’s not like wandering around a library coming across something happenstance.

I passed by a shelf in the reference section with Current Biography 1941 published by The H.W. Wilson Company. Since that was the year Citizen Kane premiered, I looked up Orson Welles and found yet another gem from his childhood:

“Young Welles had no education except this informal kind when he was finally sent to school at age 10. He had read all of Shakespeare, was proficient in belles lettres, amused himself by a critical analysis of Thus Spake Zarathustra; but he didn’t know how to add or subtract. When this lack was pointed out to him, ‘there will always be’ he said, ‘people around to add and subtract for me.'”

Hopefully my daughter, who is age 10, won’t read this entry. After all, I still need someone to add and subtract for me sometimes.

Leave a Reply

