Twilight isn’t great, but it doesn’t suck

eclipse flyleaf

Image by circulating via Flickr

It’s not that I dislike the book. I’m reading it now and I can’t put it down. I’m probably going to read the entire series. So it befuddled me that a book series I’m investing in leaves me somewhat disappointed. But it does.

The author Stephanie Meyer spends wayyyyyy too much time describing emo vampire Edward Cullen. Yes, I get that Cullen rhymes with “sullen.” There’s only so many words to describe his beauty. The main character Bella has to comment on his eyes every time he speaks. When they have conversations, Edward’s sullenness and actions interrupt dialogue.  I don’t need to know he’s sad. I got that from the beginning.  It’s like, get on with it already.

I’m halfway through the book and nothing really has happened yet. Maybe I made the mistake of watching the movie first, but I think by this time the bad guys might have shown up by now.

In the film, Bella reacts to her realization that Edward is a vampire in a much more believable way. In the book, she simply tells him, “It doesn’t matter.” WHAT? If I was in high school and I find out my boyfriend with the chiseled features is a blood-sucking vampire, I’d ditch my pom poms and run away, my pleated skirt flapping in the breeze.

But I guess it doesn’t matter, I’m going to finish the book and the series because I have to know what happens. In that way, Stephanie Meyer is a genius. And that is never disappointing.

Powered by Plinky

One comment

  1. Lynne Bolinger · August 31, 2010

    I read it because I like to sample what my avid reader students read for pleasure.

    I get it. I don’t need to read more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

