the sun, chirping, and the child: 3 songs I never tire of

 

 

Here Comes the Sun by George Harrison

My sister played this album a LOT when I was little. Our family lived in a cozy one floor home in Pleasant Prairie, WI. My sister had all the Beatles albums and when I learned to read, I sat enthralled by the huge album covers and notes.

I saw the boys transforming from half shadows on Meet the Beatles to the four squares on Let it Be. “Here Comes the Sun” reminds me of whatever we lose, it eventually comes back just like the sun never-failing to rise.

Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep by Mac & Katie Kissoon

Did Quiet Riot rip off the melody of this song for “Cum On Feel the Noize?” Listen closely, they sound alike. This song came out in 1971 which means I was 2 years old when it was on AM radio. I don’t remember much as a toddler but I do remember music.

I read that this song, about a baby bird who lost its mother, is a statement about boys lost in Vietnam. I’m not sure if that’s true but I do know that it’s a bubblegum pop song with a good beat you can dance to (to quote the many teenagers on Dick Clark‘s Rate-a-Record)

O-O-H Child by The Five Stair Steps

This song I listened to after my first daughter was born with a multitude of medical issues. The week after her birth, NICU kept finding something wrong with her as each day went by. First there were gastrointestinal issues, then a single kidney, and finally a hole in her heart.

Although the doctors swarmed around my husband and I and told us exactly what happened and what we needed to do, it still felt like we were drowning. Then I heard these lyrics: “Ooh child, things are gonna get easier. Ooh child, thing’s will get brighter.” And yes, eventually, we walked in the rays of the beautiful sun.

Powered by Plinky

One comment

  1. Lynne Bolinger · September 27, 2010

    God’s gift of music/lyrics comes in many forms for those who need……………..

    Like

Leave a Reply

