it’s dark and we’re wearing (ray bans wayfarer) sunglasses…hit it!

I'm Still in Love with You (Roy Orbison album)

Image via Wikipedia

Elwood: It’s 106 miles to Chicago, we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it’s dark, and we’re wearing sunglasses.
Jake: Hit it.

my ode in acrylic to my fav sunglasses: wayfarers

First there was Audrey:

image via flickr

Then the Blues Brothers:

image via flickr - poster from the movie blues brothers

Then Tom:

image via flickr

Then finally me:

notice the beale st shirt - straight from memphis

When Tom Cruise brought back Wayfarers in Risky Business and Don Henley sang about them in “Boys of Summer“, I found an old pair of my brother’s (maybe it was his tribute to Roy Orbison). I couldn’t stop wearing them in high school.

Like when it was Fifties Day at high school. I forewent the poodle skirt and dressed like a greaser with my dad’s old shirt and my brother’s Letterman jacket:

My over-sized pair came in handy (still don’t believe the school allowed us to wear shorts that short):

Even during the Miss Bristol,WI pageant (one year I won Miss Congeniality – take THAT Sandra Bullock!)

My friend Jill got in on the action. A boy in school thought Jill had a body that was illegal for freshmen to look at.  I have to agree.

Today I can’t wear Ray Bans due to my prescription eye glasses. I once owned a pair of prescription sunglasses but I made the mistake of wearing them in the ocean at Laguna Beach. A wave swept over me and off they went.  Somewhere there’s a fish who can see REALLY well but more importantly, looks REALLY cool.

Leave a Reply

